Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
I hate tubeless wheels so much!
Quote | Reply
I get that tubeless are all the rage, tires must be as wide as possible and pressure as low as possible.
It may be more blasphemous than slamming Lionel, I may be kicked out of TS for saying this, but I fuckin' hate tubeless wheels.

(I used tubeless extensively with MTB, so no stranger. I do all my bike maintenance, so its not like I've never worked on a bike before)

I needed new wheels and tubeless are the only thing you can practically get. I didn't have anything against it, its just that I'm on the trainer for all my rides except for a few pre-race and race rides, so silly to deal with dried sealant and such. "No problem," I figured, "I'll just pop a tube in and not worry about it". But the wheels had a different idea altogether.
The damn tires would not set properly into the rim all the way, causing the ride to be bumpy.
As one might expect, the manufacturers go to great lengths to tell you absolutely nothing about this issue (I had this issue with both Zipp and Hunt), so I foolishly wasted good time and money replacing tires, tubes and rims. Finally I found some dark corner of the internet (e.g. Reddit) where some MTB folks discussed the issue of tire setting into the rim. Ironically, it should not happen with a tube!

And so started my tire setting adventure.

I started gently: I played some nice soothing music, dimmed the lights, lit scented candles, caressed and massaged the tires, whispering sweet nothings. The tires wouldn't budge.
I got angry and decided to teach it a lesson; I drowned it in soap water, pumped it to 5,000 PSI and waited for the blissful pop. Nada.

After many hours and dollars wasted on this stupidity I am still stuck with almost but not quite round wheels.