Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

seeking Trainer upgrade advice
Quote | Reply
Hello!

I've been using an old Kurt Kinetic trainer for about 12 years, and mostly used TrainerRoad on an old Mac Mini or an old MacBook Air. I'm in a point where something/everything needs to be upgraded - the Mini and the MacBook are crashing occasionally, but they are both over 10 years old and it's time. I have some newer devices: MacBook Air (15" M2), a couple iPads and an iPhone 15 Pro. Any of these could handle TrainerRoad and streaming shows, which I could cast to my TV. However, none have USB-A and my sensors are all ANT+, not bluetooth. I'm considering a couple routes. Cheap and simple is a USB-C hub to use my newer laptop. However, maybe this is the time to jump into the direct drive smart trainer world, which all could connect over Bluetooth. I've read all the DC Rainmaker reviews, but many were based on prices that are far higher than what they are going for now. Here are the three that I'm considering:
  1. Tacx/Garmin has a deal on the Neo 2T - buy it for $999 and get the motion plates for free (through end of January).
  2. Wahoo Core is available for $500 on Amazon, or $600 with a year of Zwift and a cassette.
  3. Elite Suito is available for $440 on Amazon or $480 on bike tires direct.

The first is clearly more premium, but I'm wondering if the motion plates would make it worth the extra cost. I've never had a rocker plate or any of that set up, but I've been thinking about it. The Elite is so cheap, and I'll get some slight discounts off that. The Wahoo Core seems to be a consensus pick for the money. Any thoughts from those that have been in the smart trainer world for a while?
Quote Reply
Re: seeking Trainer upgrade advice [jtplaysdrums] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
You've got Mac/PC there, and Tacx/Wahoo. May as well add in tubed/tubeless and Sram/Shimano and really get the full house of 50:50 tossups ;-)