Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Ironman Lake Placid in Highschool
Quote | Reply
Hi guys,

I am going to race Ironman Lake Placid this summer. I have never done a triathalon before and no I am not trolling. Does anyone have any advice for what I can do to prepare and what kind of times I can expect? For reference, I am a very active person, and I run distance for my highschool. I'm male, 5'9 and 120-125lbs/55-56kg. Any advice is appreciated because I really don't know what I'm getting myself into. What kind of training is necessary to go sub 10 at Lake Placid?

Edit 1: I did a half marathon in about 1:19 and I usually bike around 20 miles a day, so I have a little endurance already

Edit 2: I turn 18 only like 2 days before race day so I'm just barely able to do it

Edit 3: I did an ftp ramp test on zwift and got 285w. This would put my ftp at about 5.2 watts/kg (Assuming it is accurate) but I'm not really sure what this means or whether this is good or not so hopefully some of you have some advice for me.

Edit 4: There are probably going to be a lot of edits by the time I race, but honestly, if you are going to comment and tell me not to race lake placid, you might as well give me some advice instead because I'm definitely going to. I'm also planning for it to be my senior project

Edit 5: I'll try and respond to all of the posts/questions you guys have
Last edited by: Henry Schultz: Feb 10, 24 10:23
Quote Reply
Re: Ironman Lake Placid in Highschool [Henry Schultz] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
In all seriousness, for your long-term athletic development:

Don’t.

Race short. Build speed. Save IM for at least 5 years down the road.

----------------------------------
Editor-in-Chief, Slowtwitch.com | Twitter
Quote Reply
Re: Ironman Lake Placid in Highschool [rrheisler] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Its too late actually I already signed up
Quote Reply
Quote | Reply
If I prepare enough is it really that bad?