Login required to started new threads

Login required to post replies

Prev Next
Re: The Official, All Encompassing, Lionel Sanders Thread [MP1664] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Percentage of male world record
Quote Reply
Re: The Official, All Encompassing, Lionel Sanders Thread [waverider101] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
waverider101 wrote:
Percentage of male world record

Wave - I think you need to explain your comparison a bit more. B/c I've been comparing my swim times to run times since I was 15 or 16 yrs old, feel fairly confident in guessing that you're saying 18:30 for 1500 LCM equates to 15:55 for a 5K run based on % over the male WR. However, your average Joe Tri-guy has possibly never even thought about this, so you need to fully explain and show your calculations. :)

"Anyone can be who they want to be IF they have the HUNGER and the DRIVE."
Quote Reply
Re: The Official, All Encompassing, Lionel Sanders Thread [ericmulk] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
Yes that is absolutely right, so if you take the mens 5km WR as 12.5 and a 16 minute 5km as a percentage you get 128%. And then you apply that to a 14.5, which is what we know the mens world record to be in the 1500m from sun yang, you get 18,30 or so.

Now where it gets interesting is to compare how a time goes against a masters world record. However I think there are greater variables in that, and we can accept the open world records as the equivalent of a maximum performance. Masters performance is situational - whether someone remains healthy, remains active, remains able to train a reasonable amount, whether they compete, etc.

Also the open records have been more static over at least the last 2 - 3 decades. However, many of the masters records significantly have improved over the last 2 - 3 decades, by a huge amount.
Quote Reply
Re: The Official, All Encompassing, Lionel Sanders Thread [waverider101] [ In reply to ]
Quote | Reply
waverider101 wrote: